Adulting · annoyance · Authenticity · Current Events · depression · Faith · Friendship · Life · Meandering Thoughts · mental health · panic attacks · Panic Disorder · Relationships · Religion · Spirtuality · Uncategorized

Let’s Play Doctor….Or Not.

One of the most important things in life is to have a diverse group of people to interact with, at least for me.  I truly believe that you need to surround yourself with all types of people in order to create experiences, learn and expand your own views.  I’d like to think I have friends from all walks of life with their own unique view points and ideas.  Sometimes those view points have taken me aback.

A few weeks ago, a friend mentioned she didn’t feel that pharmaceuticals and prescriptions were actually “medicine” for those who have mental illness.  Being outdoors, eating right and exercising are all that you need.  It’s an argument that many people believe due to their skepticism of modern pharmaceuticals. It’s a dangerous argument.

take-a-walk-not-a-pillThere are millions of people who have tried homeopathic medicine to no avail.  They’ve tried almost anything you can think of.  I myself have tried a number of things to help cope with my anxiety from meditation and tai chi, to coloring and writing, to exercising and removing certain things from my diet (I haven’t had coffee since 2014). But my disorder still persists as do millions of people who struggle with mental illness.

As shocking as it may be, there are people who believe medication for a chemical imbalance  isn’t necessary.  I’m always amazed by the amount of people who support this. Recently, an image showcasing nature as medicine and not actual pills made the rounds on social media. While exercising and communing with nature can help relieve symptoms temporarily, it doesn’t cure a chemical imbalance.  They are integral parts of self care, but it’s not something that can magically take away your illness. Walking, exercise and eating right can assist in your health; it clearly has benefits for all around wellness including mental health. BUT it’s not always effective on its own. By steering away from pharmaceuticals or informing others that they can cure themselves,  a person is distributing possibly life ending ideas. The general public is already apprehensive to taking medication; I know I was.  The stigma attached to mental health medication is sizeable, and pushing those who need medication further from it can have disastrous effects. Imagine having a friend who struggles with depression and suicidal thoughts.  A walk through the woods may either 1. be a quick distraction or 2. can assist in making that individual feel more alienated.  Do you really want a friend who is struggling with ending their life not seeking medical attention from a professional?

l-61870Along with this idea there are those that believe that if you have enough faith, a mental illness sufferer can stop taking their medication and be healed through an act of God.  Now, don’t get me wrong…I truly believe it is possible to be healed by God, but I do not believe you should be telling an individual with a mental disorder that they can measure their faith, or lack there of, on their disorder.  Not only can it cause guilt and shame within a person who is struggling, but it’s also extremely unwise to tell anyone to stop taking a daily medication.  I recently discussed this with another friend who preceded to ask me how I knew that.  Not only does every medical professional tell you that you need to be weaned off of any daily medication as your body has adjusted to the chemicals, but most of those who suffer from mental illness have gone off of their medication without supervision.  It does not end well.  Again she pressed until I told her that I know because I’ve done it.

From conversations and meeting with those who also have a disorder, it appears that many, if not most, of us have independently decided we didn’t need our medication.  As it builds up in our system, we start to feel better.  The common thought amongst all of us appears to be that since we feel better, we no longer need the medication.  While the reality is that it’s the medication that is working and causing our chemicals to level out. For some, it doesn’t take much time at all to feel the difference.  For me, it took the half life of the drug in order for me to go into a panic attack. Anyone who suggests that you can just go off medication by faith alone has no true knowledge of mental illness.

71039097It can be incredibly difficult when you have friends who have ideas on how to respond to mental illness but do not have any experience with it.  It can be difficult navigating those relationships, and depending on my relationship with the individual, I can have trouble holding my tongue.  At times, I just want to tell people to shut their mouths, but I do my best to grin and bare it.

How do you handle off the cuff remarks from friends?  Have you ever had to bite your tongue on other people’s opinions?

19 thoughts on “Let’s Play Doctor….Or Not.

  1. I have friends who are on medication and other friends who mock them or tell them it isn’t necessary to these people I ask: if they like me and being friends with me. Then I tell them frankly, I wanted to kill myself. No walk in the park, prayer or joke would get me off the ledge. If they want to judge, go ahead into the bathroom and look at yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s unfortunate that most people don’t see or don’t want to see the way medical science looked at mental illness. While other interventions do help, it should not replace meds. In our country, there is an info drive to somehow offset the stigma associated with mental health.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Exercising and a stroll through the park make your brain produce endorphins, thus changing the chemical balance of your brain for a short period of time..
    Pills aim for something similar, but with longer results..so where the usual doesn’t work, modern medicine takes over. I think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a short period of time and it doesn’t have the prolonged effect that medication does. While exercising or being in nature can help alleviate symptoms in the moment, for someone with prolonged illness or disorders, it’s not the best way to treat a disorder.

      Like

  4. Whenever I come across people who try to tell me that Meds are not necessary and so on, I remind them that God created doctors for a reason. Traditional medicine offers a lot of life saving options and, even though I also respect non-traditional approaches, I would never toss one for the other. I’m with you all the way on this subject. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I believe in using both. Using daily medication, along with homeopathic and natural remedies, is a great approach. However, I would never throw out one for the other. 🙂

      Like

  5. My son has become an advocate for the mentally ill after meeting a family (while he was making a documentary) whose son had killed his mother because he believed she was a demon. I cannot give a link to that documentary because it is still on the festival circuit, but here is a video he made for CSPAN. He is a senior in high school and caught the attention of Representative Tim Murphy of Pennsylvania because of his advocacy. Those who tear down the mentally ill and don’t believe it is a real illness do a tremendous disservice to those who have the disease and their families.
    http://www.c-spanclassroom.org/Video/2691/Before+the+Fall+A+Season+for+Prevention+in+Mental+Health+Care.aspx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think to each their own. Personally, I think medication and professional help from a doctor are essential, especially when it comes to mental imbalances. Living healthy can of course also help to an extend, but doesn’t replace what medicine can do nowadays.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m one to try everything before the pills, life style changes, diet changes and so on come first before I even turn to holistic medicines. A lot can be healed with a change in the way you live, even think. I don’t judge others who take meds, and never will, I just hope everyone takes the time to educate themselves on their health

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I worked in pharmacy for years, so mental illness was something I witnessed on a daily basis. It shocked me just how common it was, but also it was good to see that the medications these people were on were helping them a great deal.
    Sure a lot of people feel great when they exercise regularly, eat healthy etc – but if they feel the need to be medicated, they shouldn’t be ridiculed or made to feel like it’s something they shouldn’t take. There is no shame in it!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. i wouldnt say stop altogether. it works differently for everybody. some physically need them because their bodies are chemically imbalanced. that isnt something laughter can solve. i still believe in mind over matter in certain circumstance especially during depression.

    Like

Leave a Reply

