Aging · Blogging · Growing Pains · Health · Introduction · Life · Meandering Thoughts · Responsibility · Sleep · Stress · Uncategorized

Sleep Deprived Should be a Mood

**Just a warning, this is really rambly and not very fluid.  Sorry all, but you’ll hear why.**

sleep-deprivationLast night, I couldn’t sleep.  I was up tossing and turning until at least 2 a.m. Naturally, I fell asleep JUST a few hours before my alarm was set to go off.  I find when I don’t get the proper amount of sleep, I end up in a weird head space.  I wouldn’t say in a more “depressed” outlook but run down.  I’m more unresponsive….if that makes sense.  I’m not in a good mood, not bad.  I’m not happy or sad…more pensive.  Days like this I mull things over.

I have the gym tonight, and I know I’m not going to be at my best.  My lifting won’t be on point, and I’m pretty sure my form itself will be “ehhh” at best. That’s part of the rating scale, right?   I will do my best, don’t get me wrong, but I’m not expecting my best to be 100% today. My eyes hurt, and I’m just too tired to stand up straight. Haha. The gym itself hasn’t been as cathartic as it normally is. I feel more frustrated lately.  I’m not sure if it’s because it feels like work or if I’m just not motivated. May be it’s because I can’t seem to get a good night’s sleep.

untitledThe worst part about missing a night’s sleep is that it lasts for days.  It doesn’t matter how much you sleep the next day/night; you always end up exhausted.  Your body just can’t catch up, and until you do, you’re just not yourself.  You are more like a zombie that instead of brains, just wants your bed. You aren’t up or down, happy or sad.  You just are.

It’s crazy how much you don’t feel like yourself when you’re sleep deprived.  I have some friends who end up really giddy, others who end up working in slow motion.  I find I’m falling into the latter. My thought process isn’t quite on point.  It’s actually probably the quietest my mind has been in a long time, and I’m just moving from task to task.  It’s probably the most “present” I’ve ever been.  I guess that’s a positive to not having sleep. Haha.

I read somewhere that driving without proper sleep is the equivalent to driving under the influence. While I’m not sure how true that is, I do believe it has some credibility.  Have you ever driven somewhere, and once you arrive, you don’t remember parts of the journey?  That happened to me this morning.  I got to work, and barely remembered the commute.  Your body just operates out of habit.  It’s extremely frightening now that I think about it. I know it’s not uncommon, and many people experience it.  But I’m pretty sure that only makes it worse. How many drivers are operating that way in the morning?

when-she-really-really-sleep-deprived

What do you do when you haven’t been able to sleep?  What do you do to get through the day?  Is there anything that helps you perk up and have energy?  Your tips and help would be greatly appreciated.

help-wanted-vector-clip-art-31368648

29 thoughts on “Sleep Deprived Should be a Mood

  1. I’ve had sleeping problems since I was a child. It’s not insomnia. It’s just my sleeping hours are off whack. My mom used to joke I’m running on a different time zone.

    And now being self-employed a number of years, because I don’t have to report to an office, I don’t have my schedule pre-determined for me. I have not worked out a well-run routine so my sleep/wake hours are still all over the place. I won’t go into too much detail about my sleep issues here, but I’ve ever tried skipping a night’s sleep (a few times) to normalise my sleep hours. It kinda worked but only for one night.

    To answer your most immediate concern, these are some things I’ve tried to do:
    – Go to bed earlier, MUCH earlier (this is to give my body enough time to wind down and fall asleep)
    – Pop a low dose of melatonin (for me a small dose works, so find out what works for you) and I’ve found for me it takes some time to “activate”, so I take it more than the advised 1 hour prior sleep

    You’ve to ask yourself: What is causing you to not be able to sleep? Anxiety? Stress? An over-active mind? Physical discomfort? An uncomfortable pillow? Mine include psychological factors.

    These few things may help your sleep hygiene:
    – A very dark room (get black out curtains if you need to)
    – A cool enough environment (not too cold though)
    – No electronics, including your smart phone

    I’ve more to say, but shall end my essay-long comment here 😁
    Hope the above helps!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll definitely give these a try. You always have the best tips. I love cold environments, may be I’m keeping my room too cold.

      Sometimes, I can’t sleep because of anxiety/stress. Sometimes I think of past events that I could have handled differently. Others, I just simply lay there, not tired at all.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww, thanks M 🙂

        I saw a commenter below mentioned blue light. Yes, that is a culprit too!
        So I’ve downloaded Flux (https://justgetflux.com) on ALL my devices, and turned on Night Shift on iPhone.
        It changes the “blue” light to a warm yellow. With blue light, it’s akin to looking at the sun, so your eyes “think” it’s still daytime. The yellow light lulls your body slowly into sleep mode.

        For your active mind while still in bed, I can relate, because something that used to keep me up was me punishing myself. Because I needed to work *harder* because I’m not the “successful” person my mom wants me to be, amongst other psychological factors (I really have to blog about this soon). So I stay up late to work, to compensate for my so-called lack. I still keep late hours but my self-hate has at least dropped a few notches.

        If you feel like you’re not tired at sleeping time, then you have to find ways to induce sleepiness… Something my therapist told me before: When you’re hungry, eat; when you’re tired, sleep, etc… Humans have to train our bodies like how we train animals (we essentially have an “animal” body).

        It’s a long road to fulfilling sleep, I give you that. But just know you’re def not alone on this! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll give these a try. My room is dark but not very. I have a studio so perhaps I just need to find a way to close off my bed area more.

      Like

  2. Oh my gosh girl, I’m right there with you. I am totally guilty of staying up too late, then paying for it the next day. I really think it’s starting to make me age faster than I should be too. The above advice – total dark and quiet – i already knew. But I hadn’t given a thought to room temperature. Going to turn the knob down tonight for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m going to try that as well. I love a cold room, so I think I may not have my heat on high enough. I like to keep a window partially open and I’ll close that as well.

      Like

  3. From last weeks i have only 5 to 6 hours to sleep, So i don’t think so if i don’t having enough sleep does make my head feels tired or else. Because i have full energy in my mind and body both. All things upto your thinking level, if you feel i am tired then your are. If you don’t feel then definitely you have an awesome energy level.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sleep is so important and people don’t get enough of it in general. I can’t function at all if i don’t get 7 hours sleep. I remain sluggish and in grumpy form and can’t get on with my work in a efficient manner.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Being sleep deprived is absolutely the worst. And yes–studies have shown that driving that way is as deadly as doing so under the influence.
    Wish I had a magic bullet for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES!!! To this day, I’ll try to say you can do this….you once stayed up till 4 a.m. and drove up to Boston at 6 a.m. the same day! I can’t do that any longer!

      Like

  6. I’m sorry to hear you’re having troubles sleeping. As an Ayurvedic Medicine Counselor (and practitioner in training)… This type of thing is usually causes by “imbalance”. There is something within your lifestyle, your diet, or your spirit that is being blocked and causing you from flowing. That’s all I can really say without going into a full session with you…. But switch things up in those areas and seek self-love & nature more. 💝

    Sami Sattva
    Mindful Hellos

    Like

  7. I do hope you seek some professional advice and help. Lack of sleep can lead to other debilitating conditions and driving when barely awake is dangerous. I feel for you and hope you get more rest.

    Like

  8. It is once in a great while, then I always suggest coffee, and going to bed early the next day, but if you are having ongoing problems, you should talk to your health care provider to give you a natural sleep aid. Don’t take the usual over the counter stuff. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I can so relate to your post .. when I don’t get enough sleep my brain fog is a million times worse. One thing that helps me is making sure I’m eating foods that are high in magnesium (or taking a quality supplement). For me it’s made a world of difference.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

