Adulting · Aging · annoyance · anxiety · Authenticity · fear · Friendship · Growing Pains · Letting go · Life · mental health · Over eating · panic attacks · Panic Disorder · positivity · Self Discovery · Self Worth · Stress · Uncategorized

I’m not a Cool Girl

untitledWe’ve all seen her in movies…the girl who could care less.  She’s down for any and everything.  She can eat junk food, drinks beer and has a smoking hot body. She has zero emotions other than happiness and is completely laid-back when it comes to love.  She could care less what her boyfriends do and NEVER gets upset about his actions. He never hurts her feelings because she’s just so damn cool.  She goes along with everyone.

I’ve never actually met one of these women; I’m convinced they are some sort of mythical unicorn.  She doesn’t actually exist, but the men in the world seem to believe in her.  I have met quite a few women who try their hardest to be the cool girl.  They bottle up everything when the guy they desire is near.  They make sure he thinks they don’t care about what he says or does, but when with friends, all they do is stare at their phone.  They go on about hurt feelings, but they don’t say a word to him. They let the object of their affection do as they please and pretend they have no emotion about it.  After all, appearing cool is much more important than having thoughts, emotions and boundaries.

dacd792f323df7de8aefef09e170e099I am not a cool girl.  I have feelings; I care.  I will let you know when I’m hurt or if I don’t like something.  I’m human, and I will overreact at times too.  I don’t know how to turn off my feelings or play “the game.”  I’m upfront about who I am, what I love and what I don’t. I can be messy and complicated, just like every other human being. When did emotions become something to be written off and used as if to say you are less than?  Why does having emotions make you defective?

I’ve tried playing that part, and it didn’t go well.  I tried being the girl who doesn’t care;  going through life pushing down feelings doesn’t work for me.  I ended so knotted up and unsure of myself that I could barely function. I couldn’t juggle the cool girl image and my anxiety any longer.  I couldn’t be the girl who had it all together and walk on eggshells.  It just wasn’t in my DNA.

coolgirl-logoInevitably, whenever I would try to be the cool girl, it would come crashing down in some sort of anxiety, panic attack explosion.  It would be a beautiful disaster of crumbling walls, intense emotions, and pent up frustration.  My friends would spend hours helping me pick up pieces and reassemble myself.  They’ve helped get me through some of the hardest times of my life. Wouldn’t life be so much easier if you allowed yourself to just feel things and stopped pretending to be so chill?

I’m not sure when this became something to aspire to, or even when it blinked into existence.  Has anyone ever met a “cool girl?”  A woman or girl who was exactly that in all manners of her life, not just that way to the man she likes but with her girlfriends as well?  I know I haven’t.  If anything, all the women I know and have met in passing discuss how much of a mess they feel they are.  Who is this woman and where did she come from?  Does anyone actually know?  Or is this something that is fed to us that we just accept?  I legitimately am dying to know.

d11b77dd0211b533dce4ac0344bbc208
Yes, she was a psychopath but she also had a point. lol.
20 thoughts on “I’m not a Cool Girl

  1. I am convinced they are a mythical unicorn as well because I am pretty sure they do not exist either! I am not a cool girl either and that is ok. Having feelings is perfectly naturally, we would not be human otherwise x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lol, it sounds like men have been reading too many romance novels if that is their idea of cool! Unfortunately, so many women pretend to be who they think men want them to be, it’s kind of a hard cycle to break.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can so relate to everything you said. I am not one to hide my feelings. I am very outspoken and I say what I want to say when I need to say it, especially when I am 100% sure I am right. That got me in trouble at work years ago. Haha. Don’t care. I cannot go on living my life being someone I am not, just to satisfy the majority. As the cliche goes, “Why try to fit in when you were born to stand out?”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have met some of these so called “cool girls” in my profession and to be honest they’re quite lonely. Keeping up that facade isn’t realistic and rather shallow in my opinion. Cool is such an overused word too, I don’t know why. I actually do not use this word to describe anything, but people do love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Haha, this type of woman must be a mythical unicorn. I’d like to think I’m fairly laid back in my marriage, but we all freak out from time to time. Both sexes do need to have realistic expectations in relationships.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think being a “cool girl” for me has a different meaning. It is being true to oneself and showing it. I am headstrong and I don’t want to conform to someone else’s standards if that will mean stiffling the real me.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I am pretty cool about some of the things you are mentioning here but I guess we are different. I have some things that I do not like for instance and I am pretty firm about that. I guess this makes me uncool too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

