anxiety · Authenticity · awesomeness · creativity · depression · Favorite Things · Friendship · Life · Loves · Meandering Thoughts · Meditation · mental health · mindfulness · Panic Disorder · positivity · Random Facts · Self Discovery · Stress · Therapy · Uncategorized

A New Hobby to Relax

i-love10Do you ever wonder why you write?  I don’t know if you’re like me, but there are times when it feels like I’m aching to sit down and write out something…anything really.  I’m not sure why, and I don’t really know where that urge comes from.  But it is something within me that seems to cry out from time to time.  There doesn’t appear to be any specific thought or feeling that triggers it.  I could be happy, sad or complacent, and I’ll get the itch.

I’ve added on to my writing regiment in a more old fashioned way.  I not only have this blog, but I journal as well.  Now, I’ve added letter writing to my list. Like most, I had pen pals and wrote letters in elementary school.  It never lasted long as most school projects.  Once the year was up and summer hit, writing stopped, and we went on with our lives as most children did.

letters_t658I don’t know what caused me to miss writing letters, especially since I hadn’t done it in quite a long time.  Perhaps it’s because I NEVER check my actual mail box.  The only items ever delivered are circulars or bills with the occasional card or note, so I just began ignoring my mail box.  I pay everything online, and it appeared there really was no point in checking it on a daily basis.  I missed getting mail and the small spark of joy it brings when you see something other than junk in there for you.

There’s something romantic about exchanging letters with someone.  I’m not speaking of romance in a relationship aspect, but rather an era. It reminds me of Pride and Prejudice…or almost any Jane Austen novel really.  There’s something so lovely about corresponding via handwritten messages with someone.  It’s oddly personal, especially since I’ve started with people I met through Facebook groups.  In the age of texting and email, having something physical that someone took the time to craft for you is like a gift within itself.

eliminationThe actual act of letter writing is strangely calming.  It’s been a long time since I’ve sat down and put a pen to paper to send to another.  I find focusing on my handwriting to be just the amount of focus I need in order to keep myself calm.  Plus, my brain is always working to think of what I’m about to write.  It keeps me from slipping into my normal thought process if I’m bored.  I tend to focus on the things I did that were wrong in my day, or things I could have done better.  Sitting down and writing gives me something else to do, think and focus on. It eliminates the noise in my mind and the distractions of the day.

I’ve yet to have a day where I sit to write a letter and can’t focus.  I really hope I’m not jinxing myself, but when you put your energy into something that someone else I getting, there’s something extra that keeps you on task.  It’s not like sending a text or email; there’s something a bit more.  It’s something I’ve yet to figure out fully, but I know that when all else fails, when that urge to write comes on, you’ll find me either updating here, writing in my journal or even sprawled out, writing letters to new friends.

15b3bc5c1baa5ae3cc7d5a9a57b00386

 

 

29 thoughts on “A New Hobby to Relax

  1. This is an interesting take on relaxation, honestly. I can’t speak for writing letters, but I do know that when I grab a pen and paper, I feel somehow more productive and happy, versus making a simple list on my laptop or phone.

    That being said, I might give it a shot. I can’t imagine the reaction of people I haven’t talked to in a while getting a handwritten letter from me – they’d be shocked!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Writing is so good for me. It helps me to make my mind empty. And to think some things over. It helps me to read great articles like this too! So inspiring to write on!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I loved reading your post. I started blogging because I love to write .. in fact I always have. At the end of a long day it’s so nice to write down my thoughts .. it’s almost as relaxing as a warm bubble bath (almost)

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I do want to return to letter writing. As a teenager I was quite excited about keeping in touch with my best friend from preschool who I had moved away from in second grade. We had kept in contact via snail mail from third grade until 12th. Then we went to college in the same school, and I fell out of the habit, but I really need to get back into it. I’m ashamed to admit that I don’t even know the price of stamps anymore.

    You are right it was so very therapeutic, and also something special to do for a friend. Will definitely have to start back again.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I loved this and I love writing…I don’t know that is makes me relax, but it fills me with a whole lot of joy! You are lucky to have it relax you. I have written to a pen pal and journaled although not for many years. I need to start writing notes to my friends. Thanks for the hint..

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Mary,

    Keep calm and write on indeed. I totally agree, when I blog everything that I’ve been bottling up just pours out of me and it’s such a release and awesome way to relax.

    I wish I could actually write on paper, but beyond reminding myself of to-dos and doing brain dumps, my hands just cannot deal with writing anymore. I’m such a speedy typist and it’s just easier to keep up with my thoughts by typing.

    Write on sister,

    Nadalie, It’s All You Boo

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I still have some of the letters I received from friends in middle and high school. (I often went to camp many states away and this was the best way to keep in touch until the next summer.) I think writing is such a great hobby. Even keeping a journal is therapeutic, though the people your sending letters to I’m sure are appreciative of the notes!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I remember my dad telling me that if I am upset or anxious, I should write down those feelings and the reason why I am feeling that way. It was such a freeing moment. He said, instead of carrying around that emotional luggage, write it down and free yourself of it. Works every time!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love writing too, and used to make time for calligraphy as well. i really should write more letters and that is something I’m going to make a point of doing this year!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I recently came across a blog post about websites where you could find penpals that I’ve been meaning to peruse some more. I miss writing letters too. Much more personal.
    I love writing! Besides blogging I still like to write stories when I can too. I used to do a lot of short stories, but I’ve somehow started two separate books. O.o

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I really love to write too, it’s true, the urges can hit you at ay time! I used to have loads of pen pals when I was little, so fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Something that makes me feel relax is planning in my planner. I love the feeling when I write down things, when I move pages and just the thought of having a planner with myself. I have notes in my phone, and I usually write to do list there but it’s not the same.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. A great post and certainly one that I relate to. My daughters grandfather lives in the country and at least once a week we write him a letter, it relaxes us both and makes us both feel very happy after x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment